To see less ads Register or Login ----- Daily Fantasy Sports games 18+

Setting up a new website - advice would be most appreciated

A forum for discussion on Science and Information Technology matters and queries (including PCs, the Internet, TVs, Mobile Phones, Ipods and other gadgets).
quizking
Grumpy Old Man
Location: quizking towers, primrose hill; and running the shop at https://www.quizking.net/

Setting up a new website - advice would be most appreciated

Post by quizking »

I'm thinking of setting up a new website for my business. I'm based offline, but it would be good to have a basic web presence better than the messageboard i've been using for the last six years or so. I have no html knowledge, but have been looking into using something like SiteMaker, via moonfruit or webeden. Anyone in fisoland have any experience of these companies? A quick look around user opinion on the web indicates that webeden has better customer support, but moonfruit is bigger (and in these troubled times, might be more likely to still be around in a couple of years). As sitemaker uses flash, and then this is translated into html, has this caused anyone problems if trying to view a site from an ipad for example? I'm a novice here, and have never used any apple machine; i'd just like my site to be viewable from all platforms.
Aarrgghh, so many questions. Any advice would be appreciated - and also any suggestions as to other possible companies that do the same sort of thing as the two mentioned above.

cheers

steve

MarquisMark
Grumpy Old Man

Re: Setting up a new website - advice would be most apprecia

Post by MarquisMark »

Depends how much flexibility you want from the site. If you go with a company like those two mentioned then as far as I know you can't get your hand onto the code for any decent functionality

As a beginner that may not bother you too much, but if in the long term you wanted to expand what the site does you will be limited