Basic Draft Strategy?

FPL Draft format starting in 2017/18
Mav3rick
FISO Jedi Knight
FS Record: FPL: 1082, 1201, 1800, 10203

The stats are dark and full of errors.

Basic Draft Strategy?

Post by Mav3rick »

So for those of us new to the draft version, what are the basics of draft strategy, I guess a lot changes depending on where you are in the draft but should you literally have a list of your top picks and go through them in order, or should you try to do things like pick up premium defenders or the best mid-range options if you don't get first pick on the likes of Kane, Sanchez and Lukaku?

Terrier Ramone
FISOhead
FS Record: 29th TFF 2004/5

Re: Basic Draft Strategy?

Post by Terrier Ramone »

I've never done a football draft but I'm a veteran at baseball and american football drafts. The order the game places the players is vital, as non-regular players automatically assume the best players to pick come in order. My suggestion is to look at the whole draft order and look where the bargains are, i.e the value players you want further down the list and in that way you'll need to see what premium players you want earlier. Then, work out what picks you'll be given in each round and ensure you take your picks maybe a round earlier than they will come up on screen.

I also list in order each playing position and rank all the players you'd pick in order: so for GK my list would have De Gea, Courtois, Heaton etc. as each player is picked you cross them off, if you are happy there are still some GKs you'd be happy with left, that might not be a position you need to worry about in that particular round, however, if you decide you have to have one of the GKs listed above and the first 2 are gone, you should select Heaton with your next pick.