To see less ads Register or Login ----- Daily Fantasy Sports games 18+

Trekking time again? Nepal ...

A forum for discussion on Travel, Holiday & Leisure subjects.
Pouzar99
FISOhead

Trekking time again? Nepal ...

Post by Pouzar99 »

My feet are getting itchy again. It's been 5 years now since I did the incredible 24-day Snowman Trek in Bhutan, plus the Annapurna Circuit and Annapurna Sanctuary treks in Nepal. My FISO pal. Paul Gordon, did a helluva job managing my TFFO teams while I was gone. I have been running again for more than 3 months, and am not that far from my ideal weight, about 70 kgs or 154-156 pounds, with plenty of time to get there. I have always wanted to hike in the remote highlands of Ladakh and Zanskar in northernmost India, above Kashmir, and I have found a very good, very challenging high altitude 4-weeker Aug. 11th to Sept 8th, that requires some really quick acclimatization. That's a long way to go for just one mind-boggling hike, of course. The same small company offers a month-long trek in the restricted region of Dolpo in western Nepal, making a 4th trekking trip to the world capital of walking very tempting. The Kathmandu Guest House in the heart of Thamel is like a second home. There's even time to squeak in a two-weeker north of Kathmandu in Langtang and Gossainkund in between. Then, if I'm really feeling pumped I can stick around another 10 days for a demanding high-altitude stunner in the Everest region with a few 18,000 foot-plus high passes, including the one I did on my first trip to Nepal back in 1985, that offers the best views of Everest. At my advanced age I may have to talk these guys into letting me come, but hopefully I can. If I eat the whole thing I will be gone just about 4 months, skip the fall term and miss about 40% of the hockey season and the Prem season until about Dec. 5th. I will also have to talk (bribe) my ex to look after my cat, Betty. No final decision probably for a few months but I'm leaning towards goin